I’ve been a bit preoccupied these days.  I have a post from the same time last spring.  It’s the hockey playoffs.

I’m a Bruins fan.  I understand that most of you reading this are likely Penguins fans.  (Hopefully we’ll get to live this together next round.)  Oh – and there’s at least one Canadiens fan.  <pause… clears throat>  Anyway, the game 7 the other night was ridiculous.  If you love hockey and have a break in your day, this 30-minute highlight video is well worth your time – click it.  If you saw the game, you know that the Bruins were down 4-1 in the third.  Honestly, I walked away from it.  I followed here and there on the internet.  But if you know the Bruins season this year, you’ll understand that there was really no reason to believe they had anything to offer and Reimer looked unbeatable.

Tangent: I had a vasectomy done this spring.  For those of you who haven’t had the experience, it’s really not that bad.  In fact, it’s kind of interesting.  In a matter of 30 minutes you drop your pants, lay down, and lose your ability to reproduce.  Against the doctor’s suggestion, I refused the sedative.  Then, half-way through I thought, What the hell am I doing?!! This is ridiculous!  (Maybe that’s common; hence the sedative.) But then I calmed down.  I calmed down because the doctor started talking hockey.  I noticed his Canadian accent and assumed he was into hockey.  The accent didn’t have any French to it, so I thought maybe he was a Leafs fan.  Turns out I was right.

So while he was sawing away at my manhood, we talked about goaltending (he’s not very confident in Reimer), the Kessel/Seguin/Hamiton trade (we agreed it seemed to be a win-win), and the possibilities going toward the playoffs.  (This was in April.)  I found it interesting, when Kessel put the Leafs up 3-1 the other night, that while Toronto seemed to have just killed my hockey dreams, a Leafs fan had already cut off my sack a month earlier…

Back to reality… So, the Pirates won last night.  When the Brewers went up 3-1, I walked away from the game.  I was up for work at 5:00 in the morning and knew I’d be up at 5:00 again today (turns out it was 4:30), so I figured I’d get some sleep while I could.  Well, the Buccos came back.  Cutch hit the walk-off.  And they’re looking good again this year.

However, right now hockey is dominating my sports consciousness.  And it will be that way until the Bruins raise the Cup (…or get eliminated… hmph…).  But in the midst of my relative baseball apathy, I have turned off the Pirates three (3) times when they were losing 3-1.  All three times they have come back to win.  This is good.  While I don’t know the bullpen that well yet this season (the bullpen is my true indicator of how closely I’m following), I’ve seen/read enough to know that this offense can score runs in any inning – they aren’t the ’27 Yankees, but I think you know what I’m saying.   Yes, El Toro needs to go on a tear if he wants to hit .200 this year.  And Barmes is on (relative) fire with his .580 OPS.  But tell me you don’t want any of these guys up with a runner on in the 9th (against a right-handed pitcher): Marte, Martin, Jones, Snider, Walker, and of course Cutch.  (And Sanchez vs the lefty.)  Yes, there a problems in the line-up.  But that’s 6 guys that are hitting comfortably right now.  And Pedro could make it a 7th pretty quickly.

Sports are funny.  Sometimes I wonder why it matters so much – why I can’t stop watching replays of grown men on skates hacking away at a chunk of rubber.  But every time I go down that road I come back to the same thing: sports offer us hope in any situation (if you don’t believe me, go up the page and click on that link).

Without any clock, baseball is the game that can offer that hope the most.  I’m looking forward to coming back to the Pirates full time.  But for now, the B’s have my heart.  It’s tough being a 2-sport guy.  Now I know how Bo Jackson must’ve felt.

Leave a Reply

